2018 All Ireland SFC Final; Dublin v Tyrone, Sunday 2nd September, Croke Park, 3:30pm


Unfortunately/fortunately, the Sunday Game panelists don’t have any voting power.

Unless the nomination/voting process has changed, it’s one vote per media organization. RTE have two, one for radio and one for TV. Newstalk have one. (NT’s is Dave McIntyre. No idea who RTE’s are.) None of TSG panelists would have a vote. The newspaper voters would be their regular, accredited GAA journos & not the former players ‘writing’ their weekly columns.


Folks, when are the All Stars on?


True but does Cluxton give a shite ?

He won five, three of them as a loser in terms of AI success

Since his last one in 2013, he’s lifted trophies 14 times as captain, 4 of them as a All Ireland champion


Yea but he hasn’t an O’Byrne Cup


Niall Morgan will be the winner then :wink:


There have been periods of major games in the past when Cluxton too has struggled with finding his man, though he has also always come good in the end (except 2015 semifinal drawn game) partly because of the quality of the receivers he has which must also be taken into account.


Here they are folks…

The list of nominees in full is:

1.Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
2.Graham Brody (Laois)
3.Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

1.Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal)
2.Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
3.Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)
4.Eoin Murchan (Dublin)
5.James McCarthy (Dublin)
6.Che Cullen (Fermanagh)
7.Sean Kelly (Galway)
8.Eoghan Kerin (Galway)
9.Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh (Galway)
10.Gavin White (Kerry)
11.Eoin Doyle (Kildare)
12.Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)
13.Drew Wylie (Monaghan)
14.Ryan Wylie (Monaghan)
15.Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)
16.Michael McKernan (Tyrone)
17.Tiernan McCann (Tyrone)
18.Peter Harte (Tyrone)

1.Michael Murphy (Donegal)
2.Brian Fenton (Dublin)
3.Thomas Flynn (Galway)
4.Niall Kearns (Monaghan)
5.Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)
6.Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

1.Rory Grugan (Armagh)
2.Paul Broderick (Carlow)
3.Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
4.Niall Scully (Dublin)
5.Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
6.Brian Howard (Dublin)
7.Paul Mannion (Dublin)
8.Dean Rock (Dublin)
9.Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
10.Shane Walsh (Galway)
11.Damien Comer (Galway)
12.Ian Burke (Galway)
13.David Clifford (Kerry)
14.Daniel Flynn (Kildare)
15.Paul Cribben (Kildare)
16.Conor McManus (Monaghan)
17.Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan)
18.Niall Sludden (Tyrone)


The difference a year makes! Not one Mayo man!


James nominated in defence … :roll_eyes:


I wonder is Murch more excited about the All Star nomination, or about collecting his Junior Cert results later on today? :sunglasses:
Seriously though, it’s a great achievement for him!


I would agree with that - however i’m talking about this year.


Dark horse there , apparently played a blinder in one of the qualifiers too .


Murchan marked that boys card.


That’s a good sign as more chance of him getting an All Star as centre back than midfield.

Fento and Cavanagh will be the midfielders


Six forwards, must be our best ever nominations at that end.


We’ll win 7 (Cooper, James, Jack, Fenton, CK ,Howard Mannion) with Cluxton likely seen to have won too much already


Aye in all likelihood despite the fact that Cavanagh didn’t really play in midfield either.




What are ye rearing up there at all @upthedall ?

From interview with Sean Cavanagh

‘ The former footballer, who runs an accountancy firm, addressed questions about politics and having an Irish identity.

“I would probably call myself Irish,” he said‘

Jesus, that’s big of him!


FFS…Run with the hares, hunt with the hounds.